Yemen Arab Republic - language, government, economy, cities, history, tourism, people, education, religion

Yemen Arab Republic (YAR)

Yemen Arab Republic (YAR), commonly North Yemen, former country of Asia, now the northern part of the Republic of Yemen, in the southwestern corner of the Arabian Peninsula. From 1962 to 1990, the country was an Islamic Arab sovereign republic, governed under a provisional constitution published in 1974. The country’s capital was Sana‘a (Sanaa). On May 22, 1990, under the terms of a constitution drafted in 1981, the Yemen Arab Republic (YAR) and the People’s Democratic Republic of Yemen (PDRY) joined to form the Republic of Yemen.